Woot! Woot! Kayak sale at Suntrail

Suntrails_kayak_saleSuntrail Source for Adventure is having their annual sell-off of their rental fleet this Saturday in Hepworth, Ontario (Hepworth is about midway between, Owen Sound, Wiarton and Sauble Beach).

I’ve rented from them many a time and went to the sale last year fully intending to buy a kayak for BigLakeBob for his birthday. I bought one for myself instead. What can I say? Kayaks can have that effect. You’ve been warned.

My Perception Tribute kayakI thought I wanted a touring sea kayak thinking that I might grow out of a recreational model. There was one there and it was technically my size, but it just didn’t feel right. Plus I’d never had this boat in the water. I’m a big believer in trying sports equipment before you buy. As it happened it was snapped up by the woman ahead of me. However, my favourite recreational model, the Perception Tribute, which I had rented many times was available when my number came up. It cast a little wink my way, flashed it’s great price and I was like putty…

We also toyed with buying a sleek Boreal Design Sedna for Bob, but again he hadn’t tried it out on the water. So Bob got a lovely new Point 65°n at Hiker’s Haven that he tried out on Sixteen Mile Creek the following week.

Bob kayaking Georgian BaySo if you are at all inclined to buy a kayak, this is a great opportunity.  Be there early. The sale is first come, first serve. Numbers are available starting at 7:00 a.m. Sale starts at 9:00 a.m. By 10:00 a.m. the rush was over but there were still a few expensive kayaks from their rental fleet available and their new stock. It’s best if you know what type your after so you don’t get caught up in the excitement and make a poor choice as I almost did.  (It wasn’t that comfortable! What was I thinking!)

There’s more information, including a price list on Suntrail Source for Adventure. It never hurts to browse…

One thought on “Woot! Woot! Kayak sale at Suntrail

Leave a comment